Skip to main content

Karina Canellakis pairs Mendelssohn with his idol, the man whose music he described as "The greatest music in the world”: JS Bach.

We hear contrasting sides of Bach: the brilliant and courtly concerto composer in his 30s, then the visionary, astounding master in his last years. Mendelssohn’s exhilarating and celebratory symphony makes a fine climax to the evening. Written to mark the 300th anniversary of a key date in The Reformation, nonetheless it is the inspiration of Bach that you hear throughout.

Mendelssohn: Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage
Bach: Violin Concerto in E
Bach (arr Webern): Ricercare from A Musical Offering  
Mendelssohn: Symphony No 5 in D ‘Reformation’

Karina Canellakis: Conductor
Benjamin Marquise Gilmore: Violin

Kindly supported by SCO AMERICA

Photo by Masataka Suemitsu


Tales of Mendelssohn III conducted Karina Canellakis