Skip to main content

Few soloists could lead an entire, packed Royal Albert Hall to join in their encore, but violinist Pekka Kuusisto is one of a kind – a free spirit who charms, thrills and astonishes you with music you know well and pieces you have never heard before. 

Here, Bach’s concerto is a launch pad for Hillborg’s new piece: snatches of the Brandenburg send Pekka and the Orchestra freewheeling in different directions to create excitement and ravishing beauty. After the interval, Pekka turns to his native Finland, and Sibelius’ majestic and deeply personal response to nature.

Join them for the ride and expect the unexpected: you won’t be disappointed!

Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No 3, BWV 1048
Hillborg: Bach Materia
Bach: Partita in E major, BWV 1006
Sibelius: Symphony No 5

Pekka Kuusisto: Director / Violin



SCO 2019/20: Bach and Sibelius with Pekka Kuusisto