Skip to main content

Marking the centenary of the Armistice, this special event represents a musical response to the legacy of war and the feelings of commemoration, love, loss, joy and peace it brings.

Suckling’s Meditation is bound to be intriguing, with the inclusion of bells pealing from across Scotland. With the added luxury of one of the Season’s headline artists, Nicolas Altstaedt, a highly creative director and cellist in Schumann’s hugely expressive Concerto, the programme opens with Wagner’s beautiful lullaby and is completed with a work of brightness, optimism and good humour – Beethoven’s Eighth Symphony.

Wagner: Siegfried Idyll
Schumann: Cello Concerto
Suckling: Meditation (after Donne) World Premiere
Beethoven: Symphony No 8

Nicolas Altstaedt: Conductor / Cello

Composer Insights, 6.30pm: Martin Suckling explores his new work Meditation (after Donne).

Proudly sponsored and match funded by and Culture & Business Fund Scotland

Collection in aid of Poppyscotland


Schumann Cello Concerto played and conducted by Nicolas Altstaedt